Debating winners

Frayne Festival

The Frayne Festival is a gathering of students from schools founded in the traditions of Mercy education. On Friday 25th August, twenty-one eager students and four staff members headed to Mount Lilydale Mercy College and represented St Aloysius College in the following categories:

  • Public Speaking
  • Debating
  • Voice choir

Our students worked together to showcase their collaborative and creative skills across each of the festival categories and the students are to be commended for their passion and persistence. Our debating students researched, planned and developed arguments in response to topics such as Political parties should be required to present candidates from underrepresented groups and We regret the rise of AI. The public speaking students explored topics such as Music soothes the soul, The youth of today, and The world is a smaller place these days, culminating in the delivery of an eight-minute speech. Our Voice Choir students creatively delivered two poems, Embrace Our Difference by Solli Raphael and An Ode We Owe by Amanda Gorman. While for many of our voice choir members it was their first time experiencing this competition they performed with gusto and confidence.

A huge congratulations to the debating team of Ana Milazzi, Sofia Jorquera and Carlota Ham Lopez supported by Phoebe Skells and Isabel Valsecchi-Dormer who won overall first place in the debating category. Congratulation also to Ana Millazi and Sofia Jorquera who were awarded best speakers.

A very special thank you to Ms Anne Stamboulis and Mr Adam Valladares for all their guidance and support of the debaters and public speaker and to Ms Pippa Mills for her tireless guidance of the voice choir.

Congratulations to all our participating students:

Public Speaking: Bella Fraser

Debating: Isabel Valsecchi -Dormer, Phoebe Skells, Ana Milazzi, Sofia Jorquera, Carlota Ham Lopez,

Voice Choir: Delilah Tighe, Sedora Tadele, Sonja Rutz, Gabby Roberts, Isabella Ortiz, Matilda O’Mahoney, Adau Ngor, Sofia Narsilio, Keira Lucas, Hannah Kennedy, Brooke D’Souza, Alex Del Mastro, Maree Christopoulos, Poppy Calkoen, Fadzai Bako.